News / Blog

Find out more about the counties of Ireland

Counties of Ireland

Ireland is a country with a rich culture and stunning natural beauty. To get to know this charming island better, you need to understand what counties are, which divide the country. In practice, counties work like states here in Brazil, with some differences.

With 32 counties, each with its own beauty and unique characteristics, there is much to explore in this country. From the wonderful landscapes of Connemara to the vibrant city of Dublin, there is something for everyone in Ireland.

What are counties in Ireland?

Ireland’s counties are administrative divisions that cover the entire country. Very similar to the Brazilian states. Each county has its own local administration, responsible for services such as education, health and public transport.

Some of the counties are very large, like County Cork which is the largest in Ireland. Others, like County Dublin, are relatively small in size but densely populated.

The counties of the Republic of Ireland

The Republic of Ireland is made up of 26 counties. Each of these counties has its own history and culture, and many have popular tourist spots that attract visitors from around the world.

The largest county in Ireland is Cork, with just over 7,500 km². This county has a rich history, with sites such as Blarney Castle and the town of Kinsale being popular tourist spots.

Other popular tourist spots include the beautiful countryside of Connemara, the medieval city of Kilkenny, and the impressive cliffs of moher.

Dublin is the capital of Ireland and the smallest of the Republic’s 26 counties. It is also the most populous, with more than 1.3 million people living in the metropolitan region. Dublin stands out for its buzzing nightlife, with popular pubs and bars throughout the city centre. Other sights include Dublin Castle, St. Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland.

The Counties of Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland is made up of six counties. This territory is part of the United Kingdom and has a culture and history distinct from the Republic of Ireland, as Northern Ireland is famous for its natural landscapes, including the Giant’s Causeway and Glenariff Forest Park.

County Antrim is the largest in Northern Ireland, covering just over 3,000 km². This county is famous for the Giant’s Causeway, a series of volcanic rocks that form a road on the north coast. Other popular sights include Dunluce Castle and St. Anne in Belfast.


Ireland is a delightful country with a rich history and culture. Getting to know Ireland’s 32 counties can help you explore the country with different goals

Author: Thiago

I moved to Ireland 2012. I work as a business administrator and travel a lot to Europe with my work. I enjoy writing and athletics during my vacation and try to visit friends and family every year in Brazil.
or connect on social media below:
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more on our privacy policy page.